Monkees, Mosquitoes, Bugaloos, Bradys…and a Partridge in a Pear Tree

I was thinking about how much the Trixie Belden series influenced me in my creating the Arts-Angels, and it got me to thinking about The Scooby-Doo Mysteries!  Remember that episode where the Mystery Machine gang met up with Josie and the Pussycats?  I enjoy imagining what it might be like if Trixie’s mystery-solving club, The Bob-Whites, met up with my main character Gina’s band, the Arts-Angels, in some kind of mystery!

But remembering Josie and the Pussycats also got me to remembering all the shows I used to love as a kid and how many of them were music or band-based.  I watched a lot of shows in syndication (since many were before my time) but getting to see them 5 days a week was a great way to become an instant fan.  I loved watching reruns of The Partridge Family, The Monkees, and the Bugaloos (which were a special obsession of mine for a while back when I had a crush on “IQ” the blond Bugaloo).

And you wanna know something?  ALL of those shows had really great music!  Remembering THAT got me to trolling YouTube to find samples of that music.  And here’s what I found!

The Partridge Family’s “I Think Love You”:

The Bugaloos’  “Senses of Our World”:

Trippy show, but I always loved the harmonies of the Bugaloos and was intrigued by their strange and magical world (and the evil Benita Bizarre who was always out to destroy them or posess them.  Hmmm.  Perhaps there is a little Benita in Willa?)

The Monkees’ “(Look Out, Here Comes Tomorrow)”

Picking a Monkees’ song was extra hard because they have so many good ones!

One thing I also really liked seeing on TV, too, was when a show that was usually NOT ordinarily based on music suddenly introduced a musical element into an episode.  It was great when Marcia Brady from the Brady Bunch met Davy Jones from the Monkees, but I really loved it when the Brady Bunch kids entered a talent show to try to win a prize for their parents:

The Brady Bunch, “Sunshine Day” and “Keep on Dancing”:

And last, but not least, who could forget when the women of Gilligan’s Island created a trio they dubbed “The Honeybees” and tried to impress the Beatles-like band “The Mosquitoes” (AKA Bingo, Bango, Bongo and Irving) with their song “You Need Me”?

Mrs. Howell cracks me up!

 

I hope you enjoyed this little trip down Nostalgia Avenue (just down the way from Memory   Lane)!  And if any of this was new to you, I hope you enjoyed listening to some great music!

 

One Comment on “Monkees, Mosquitoes, Bugaloos, Bradys…and a Partridge in a Pear Tree”

  1. Mirka Breen says:

    OMG, I was a total Brady Bunch fan, and that was ion ago and halfway ‘round the globe.
    I learned to love that lovable Scooby with my kiddos, though. We didn’t get him over there in Israel.


Leave a Reply

